Skip to content

Up to now, most…

May 23, 2012

Up to now, most of my focus on the upcoming Empty Words arrangements have been on Part 1, but someone floated the idea around of a single episode (maybe 2 or 3) being almost 5 different solo arrangements spatially divided.

So I started thinking of controlling an episode by myself. I’m working on an arrangement where instead of speaking the words, this sampler of prerecorded syllables is used and I would just type them out. Lately I have been using this nice program called SoundPlant as a desktop sampler. It’s very useful for creating a microtonal sine wave keyboard among other things. Thanks to Marcel Blum, the creator.

I would observe the same reading pace I set for Part 1 of seven seconds per line (loosely) and 64 lines per column.

Here’s a sample that I tacked onto some music I wrote for Part 1 + some outdoor noise from my neighborhood.

For those following at home this will be pages 34-36 (halfway only).

-Paul

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

