Skip to content

Us vs. Running

October 11, 2011

I turns out that the NYC Marathon is on Sunday, November 6th this year.  I should have known this, as the marathon always seems to be on the first Sunday in November.  It was not a major concern of ours when we selected the date for Perfect Lives Manhattan, but nonetheless, we’ll have to compete with it, at least our first few episodes will (the Park is at 11 AM & the Bank is at 1 PM).

I live on Greene Ave, one block from Lafayette Ave, around a third of the way through the course.  Marathon day is very special to me: it’s the day of the year when a moving city of people run, in an almost solid block, through my neighborhood, and I shout at them.  I shout encouragement, that is.  “Allez allez” to the Frenchpeople & “Viva Italia” for some others.  “Go Denise!” or what have you.  You wouldn’t believe it if someone described it in the abstract.

I’m mentioning it because there’s some kind of parallel to be drawn between watching what we’re doing & watching a marathon.  They both happen around someone’s home, they’re both unusual but also unremarkable (“those people are just talking” vs. “those people are just running”), but the framing of the event makes them special, magical.  Anyway, I aspire to make art like a marathon.  Maybe I can catch the front of the pack on my way into Manhattan…

– Dave

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 7, 2011 4:12 pm

    hey, great blog! love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

